I recently moved to Georgia and decided to start a new chapter in my life. As my brother stated to me that if my life was like a book it wouldn’t fit in the normal guidelines. What he meant was that each book has a build, the climax, and a resolution to it. He said that each of my chapters were basically that in themselves because I always stumble upon people and places that either cause great excitement or great drama. I’m always trying to accomplish new things in new places. For better or worse that’s who I am. I’m a multifaceted guy that’s not afraid to try new things. I enjoy meeting new interesting people and seeing new places. Even if I fail miserably and fall face first into something I always take away from it the story. Here at Moonshot you’ll hear a lot of my real life stories. You’ll also get a taste of some of my creative juices.

Every summer I make a list of things I want to accomplish that summer and throughout the second half of the year. I think it’s very important to make lists and sheets because it forces you to focus on what you really want in life in the current. I’m not a type of person who just lets life happen to him and just keeps going without any direction. That’s why I make these lists. I also hang them up on the wall so that I am forced to see them and can map out in my head where I’m at and if I’m slacking or not. I recently moved back to the south and I had to toss out my summer goals list. I do remember a few things on the list.

-Average a game a month visited for the St. Louis Cardinals

-Travel somewhere new

-Get a raise/promotion

-Go on the Anheuser-Busch tour

-See a game at Ballpark Village

-Finish my book/ get something published

-I don’t remember the 7th item

As I was packing I remember looking at the list and remember thinking I did better than I thought. I have a bucket list/goals list that I hang on my wall of almost a hundred things I want to do in my life. I see that one every day. I didn’t always see the summer goals list. As I was looking at it I realized I did more than I expected to do. Every time I make a list I try to cross off half of it. If I make a list of seven things I want to get at least three. Because of time or money certain things can not always be accomplished so sometimes I have to count my blessing and be happy when I can accomplish anything no matter how big or small.

I went to several Cardinals games this year and made my average. Check. I went on a ballpark road trip and saw multiple new cities and saw four new MLB ballparks. Check. I got my raise and a promotion. That is part of the reason why I have moved back to Georgia. Check. I didn’t go on the brewery tour. I didn’t see a game at Ballpark Village but I did go there several times before or after going to the Cardinals games. Partial check? Initially I had planned to self published a book I wrote. It’s completed and all, I just wanted someone to read through it and make some edits and suggestions. That never happened. My dad sent me a contest for submitting a short story about growing up in northern Illinois and I actually was one of the stories that got accepted. That will be published in a few months. Check. As I listed I don’t remember my 7th thing. I know I remember wanting to go hiking or do one of those obstacle courses things but I just didn’t have the people or funds to do that sort of thing. I’m not sure if that was on my summer goals list though. I just remember the item wasn’t anything that I was upset I didn’t accomplish while I was living in St. Louis.

Now that I’m living in Georgia for the second time I think I’m going to have to sit and think about new adventures and things I want to do and accomplish while I’m here. I had to sign a contract with my work company for one year so I’m not going anywhere for a while. They helped with the moving costs and it’s only fair that I would have to sign a contract stating that I would stay with the company for at least a year.

I was doing a months count for time I had been with this company. I started out as a part-time worker. After nine months I was promoted to a full-time worker. It mostly took nine months due to delays for a new store. After ten months working as a full-timer I now have been promoted to a shift leader. It’s like a manager-lite. If I play my cards right I could hope to become an assistant store manager in eleven months I suppose.

Really the thing that sets me apart from the rest is my willingness to relocate. There are people who know more and have worked for the company longer but they are committed to a certain area. I work for an organization that is growing into new markets and new states. I think it’s great. It feels great that I have the option to stay put if I really like where I am, or I can move up if I’m willing to sacrifice some things. All I know is that in my next blog I’m going to tell you all about the moving process and the fun I’ve already had with my new roommates.

@The_Moonshot_

 

 

